Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The Long Way Back
6 juin 2008

First stop : Dubai

Dear all,

We have reached Dubai on wednesday. Surprisingly Air India flight was good : it was on time and almost empty!
After 3 hours spent in the customs (we had to pay some duty despite our carnets de passage) we found an indian guy to lift away our bike boxes and take us to an empty street to unload them and to break them to release the bikes. We spent 4 hours trying to break the boxes and to reassemble the bikes. It was hot and my bike didn t seem to want to work and move. We gave up fixing it at 11 pm and decided to leave them in a garage owned by a guy from Kerala. We spent the next 2 days fixing the bikes, well my bike, with Anil - now another garagist friend of ours - probably one of the many to come! The carburator was not well fixed and we had to change the bearings of my front wheel as well. I also had a flat tyre... a lot of work and 0 km done! We finally drove off today and did 40 km in the heat of the city. Yes indeed Dubai weather is hot: around 45 degrees and plenty of humidity to sweat like never before (and we lived in India 2 years!)

P1060942     P1060978    P1060981
         
We spent some time shopping in the huge malls and eating junk food before our departure to Iran : we are hopefully going to catch a ferry to Iran (Bander Abbas) tomorrow morning from Sharjah.

As I am writing this post I am realizing that India is behind and am sad to have left the life I had there, my workmates, my friends. Thanks to all the Pakis and Keralites working in Dubai, I still feel the subcontinent is not to far and it feels good...

Now we shall move on and get into the real Long Way Back...

Lots of love,

May the road be with us!

Ps: some pictures of dubai will come in later...we have some funnny ones to share...i just have to figure out how to reduce the pictures' size on cybercafes' computers. Any suggestions?

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
D
I have been visiting various blogs for my term paper help research. I have found your blog to be quite useful. Keep updating your blog with valuable information... Regards
S
Germain et Adrien. Vous me manquez. I am glad that you had a nice flight. Air India was not that bad in the end. Héhéhé. You had to fix your bike? What the F*@K were those guys in Mahim doing? <br /> Anyway, are you missing me? I miss my morning kisses. I like the part where you write about the Pakis and Keralites. Made me crack up. <br /> Love you boys....Muaaah.
E
Pr tes photos il n'y a pas vraiment de solution en dehors de les envoyer sur une plate-forme en ligne qui te le reduise par elle meme. Flicker, et les galleries photos de facebook font ca (flicker c'est mieux).
N
C'est pour de vrai alors... Je n'arrive pas a croire que vous etes vraiment partis avec des boulettes, en route vers la gaule...
The Long Way Back
  • Frenchies on three-fifties proudly present : The Long Way Back - 7 000 miles back to France! Germain and Adrien - two Mumbaikar originately from France will attempt to come back to the country of cheese & wine on their Enfield bikes
  • Accueil du blog
  • Créer un blog avec CanalBlog
Publicité
The Long Way Back
Publicité